AFL Senior Coaches 2018



Monjon Allan Jeans Senior Coach of the Year

Recognition of the best performed Senior Coach throughout the home and away season, having regard for current season's performance, available resources, player talent and team management.

Gary Ayres Award (Best Finals Player)

The Gary Ayres Award is presented in recognition of the player who has been adjudged as the best player throughout the AFL Finals series, as voted by the Coaches on a weekly basis throughout the duration of the AFL Finals Series. Votes for the Gary Ayres Award are issued after every game of the AFL Finals series by the competing coaches, with each coach providing their 5-4-3-2-1 for the match.


Shadforth Financial Group AFLCA Champion Player of the Year

Shadforth Financial Group is one of Australia‚Äôs leading financial and business advisory firms with a history dating back to 1924 in Hobart and the partnership between the AFL Coaches and Shadforth is an important one.


Atlantic Group Assistant Coach of the Year

Awarded based on input from the Players and Coaches, on a 50-50 basis.


PwC Coaching Legend

Presented in conjunction with PwC this award is in recognition of the significant achievement and excellence over time of a former VFL/AFL coach.


AFLCA Shadforth Financial Group Coaching Lifetime Achievement

Recognition of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the game over a 'footy' lifetime.


La Trobe Business School Career & Education

The award goes to a coach who has shown exceptional commitment to their professional development as judged by AFLCA Management.


Shadforth Financial Group Best Young Player

Recognition of the player who, based on his performance in his first two seasons of AFL Football deserves to be acknowledged as the Best Young Player.

AFLCA Media Award

Presented in conjunction with Atlantic Group this award is in recognition of respected and insightful coverage of AFL football at the professional level.

All coaches can nominate.

AFLW Champion Player of the Year

The AFLW Champion Player of the Year is an award voted by the 18 senior coaches on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home and away game, acknowledging outstanding effort to an individual player in a season.